Virginia law requires that all individuals operating a motor vehicle carry a valid driver’s license. You could be charged with this offense if you are driving under the following circumstances:
- You do not have your license in your possession while driving;
- Your license is expired or you never had a valid license to begin with;
- Your license was previously suspended or revoked and never reinstated;
- You moved to Virginia from another state and never updated your license.
This type of violation is a Class 2 Misdemeanor, and subsequent violations are a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Penalties for your first offense could result in up to 6 months of jail time & fines up to $1,000. Penalties for second or subsequent offenses result in fines up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in jail! Not to mention, suspension of all driving privileges with the conviction on your record permanently.
Don’t risk jail time and hefty fines – give us a call at (757) 464-9224 today!