If you are a U.S citizen or lawful permanent resident over the age of 21, you are eligible to apply for a concealed weapons permit. This allows you to carry a concealed (not visible) firearm on your body or in your car.
- You may be ineligible for a concealed weapons permit if any of the below pertain to you:
- You can’t pass a criminal background check;
- You’re under 21 years old;
- You’re ineligible to possess a firearm under Virginia State Law;
- You’ve been convicted of two or more misdemeanors in the last 5 years;
- You’re an unlawful user/distributor or are addicted to a controlled substance;
- You received a dishonorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Services;
- You’re been convicted of a felony;
- You’ve been convicted of any form of assault, battery, or firearm discharge violation.
It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor to carry a concealed firearm without the appropriate permit, with penalties resulting in up to 12 months of jail and a $2,500 fine for the first offense. The second offense is a Class 6 felony, which penalties resulting in 1-5 years of jail time and a $2,500 fine.
There are a myriad of defenses for concealed weapons violations based on the circumstances of your case. Give us a call at (757) 464-9224 or contact us online so we can determine the best defense for you!
Click here for more details on Virginia’s requirements in obtaining a concealed weapons permit, along with a complete list of what will disqualify you from receiving a concealed weapons permit.